Flowers, centerpieces, and bouquets, oh myFlowers are tough. I know what I like, but I don’t know what I want. There are so many options to choose from. All I know is my favorite flower isn’t in season in September. *Sad face*

I adore peonies…I think they’re beautiful and romantic! But I can’t have them, so what is a bride to do?!

Well, I guess I’ll just have to move on or find something similar.

Once I got over the whole peony situation, and I decided on my color palette, I discovered anemones. I love the black center of this flower and think it would look great at our wedding. Bouquets, boutonnieres, corsages, centerpieces…I LOVE it! Give me all the anemones!

There’s also the garden rose which looks similar to a peony. That’s definitely a possibility so I think I’ll keep that on my list.

I like hydrangeas too, especially for centerpieces or as a filler flower. There is so much flower on one stem. Plus I’m on a tight flower budget, so the fewer stems I need the better! I’m also trying to find centerpieces without flowers….

In comes lanterns. I love the lantern centerpieces! The romantic glow they give off…so dreamy! Keeping these on the list too.

 

I’m also contemplating more of a vintage look for our wedding, but not sure exactly how to achieve that. I’ve seen a few mason jars and vintage glass milk bottles that I like, but not sure if that would fit into our wedding. Of course, I found a bunch of perfect items on Etsy.

 

What do you think? The milk bottles and mason jars remind me of a wedding on a farm or in the country. Our wedding is urban so I don’t think it fits. I do want to use something other than the traditional centerpiece or vase. Any other suggestions? Onwards with my search!

Hopefully, my florist can help me narrow it down. But I won’t be meeting with them for a few months. I’m on a wedding planning break after all!

