The Proposal: How It All StartedI started planning my wedding a few months back, so I’ll start from the beginning. It all started March 13, 2009, in Phoenix. My boyfriend and I have been together for a while, so it was about time!

We just arrived in Phoenix for Chicago Cubs Spring Training and the boyfriend had a 102-degree temperature…obviously, the poor guy wasn’t feeling well. He was a trooper, though. He sat through a game but crashed as soon as we got back to our resort. I ended up napping too. I was actually fighting a cold myself. After an hour or two, not sure exactly how long we slept, he woke me up and asked me to go watch the sunset with him. He found the most romantic spot in our resort with an amazing view of the mountains. It was picture perfect! I wish I actually had a picture of it. That’s when he got down on one knee and proposed. I was completely taken by surprise, but it now made sense why his mom, sister, and a few of our friends had decided to come.

My soon to be mother-in-law had already bought me a few bridal magazines and a bag, and a binder to put all my ideas in. And that’s when it all started.

