Our Tuscan apartment  was in Bucine…a very small town. And by very small, I mean tine! It had a supermarket, a gas station, laundry mat, train station, two restaurants and a bar. That’s it! Luckily we had a kitchen in our apartment and managed to buy food from the supermarket to cook a couple of our own lunches and dinners.

Our day  started in Sienna. We had some time to kill before the tour, so we figured we’d stop in Sienna for a few hours. I LOVED Sienna. It had so many restaurants and shops! We bought a few things there…a scarf for me, and some cheese graters for our parents. We had some pizza, walked around the Piazza del Campo and checked out the Duomo of Sienna. It was our first full day exploring Tuscany and it was so surreal. I couldn’t believe we were finally there!!

Here are a few pictures of Siena…

After a little shopping, we headed back to our car to make the trip to Volterra. Oh, here’s our car…

It was like a go-cart! But it got us to where we needed to be. Mr. P drove the whole time…I wasn’t about to drive in a foreign country especially in Tuscany which as you know is full of hills! I had to close my eyes on our way to Volterra…there were so many sharp turns and winding roads. I was slightly terrified and getting car sick from all the turning and going up and down hills! But we finally made it to Volterra, parked and had to walk up these steps to get to the town…


I think it was over 100 steps. Cars are not really allowed to park or drive within the city walls so you have to climb the steps every time you visit. No wonder Volterians are in such good shape…they have to climb these steps every day! The town itself is gorgeous and very medieval. The Piazza dei Priori is the historical city center of Volterra. It is  a spacious square, where there is the Palazzo dei Priori from 1208, the oldest town hall of Tuscany. It’s amazing to see such an old city that is still thriving!

A few more pics of Volterra…

And finally it was time for our Twilight tour! In case you didn’t know, I’m kinda a huge fan of Twilight. OK, not kinda, I am a huge fan! I was so excited to learn that Volterra was in Tuscany and now I just had to convince Mr. P that we should go there. It was actually pretty easy…see my previous post about our honeymoon planning. He was all for it. We went on the Volterra in New Moon tour and I have to say, it was a lot of fun. For all of you Twilight fans, did you know that there isn’t a fountain in Volterra and there never has been? There’s also not a fountain in Montepulciano, but more about that trip later. Our tour guide was actually from Washington, D.C. and  has family in Wilmette, which is pretty close to Chicago. I felt kind of dumb being 28 and going on a Twilight tour, but hey…you only live once and when was I going to be able to visit Volterra again? Thank god there was another couple on their honeymoon that were of a similar age to Mr. P and I…phew! All the other tourists were what you would expect…young, teenage girls. I liked this tour because, yes it was about Twilight, but our tour guide also threw in history of the town. She took us all around the town and showed us places that are mentioned in the book. She did point out that it was obvious Stephanie Meyer hadn’t visited Volterra, because some of her descriptions were off.  Once the tour was over, we were taken to where the Volturi were and saw a little performance. It was pretty cheesy, but after the performance, we had some wine and cheese.

After that, we headed to our little Tuscan apartment to cook ourselves some dinner. We wanted to stay for dinner in Volterra, but we were pretty far from Bucine. I don’t remember how many kilometers it was, but I think it took between 1 1/2 to 2 hours. So we headed “home” and made ourselves some pasta and had some wine!

Next up is our wine tour in the Chianti region!!

Oh, and here is our Tuscan apartment!!

and the view…

